Monday, March 21, 2011

Gentle Creatures

Given that Tarnation's frontwoman Paula Frazer is best known for her work in the L.A post-punk band Frightwig -- and since Gentle Creatures is, after all, a product of the arty 4AD label -- the absolute-torch-and-twang authenticity that defines the record is a wonderful surprise; ethereal yet earthy, the album's strength derives from all of it's seeming contradictions. Powered by Frazer's deft songwriting and smoky vocals, Gentle Creatures is melancholy and gorgeous, it's love songs and ballads cloaked in reverb and gothic imagery. What Tarnation shares with it's 4AD stablemates is an uncanny knack to build and maintain a rich, dense atmosphere; the record is dusky and otherworlfly, haunted by the spirits of failed relationships, late-night radio transmissions, and other ghostly presences.

~ Jason Ankeny, All Music Guide

Artist: Tarnation
Album: Gentle Creatures
Year: 1995
Label: 4AD


Lincoln Allen: electric and acoustic guitars, banjo, vocals
Michelle Cernuto: drums, bass, guitar, vocals
Paula Frazer: vocals, guitar, bass, optigan,
Matt Wendel Sullivan: lap steel, bass, steel and acoustic guitars, vocals


Carla Fabrizio: Cello on "Do you Fancy Me"

  1. Game Of Broken Hearts
  2. Halfway To Madness
  3. The Well
  4. Big O Motel
  5. Tell Me It's Not So
  6. Two Wrongs Won't Make Things Right
  7. Lonely Lights
  8. Gentle Creatures
  9. Listen To The Wind
  10. The Hand
  11. Do You Fancy Me
  12. Yellow Birds
  13. Burn Again
  14. Stranger In The Mirror
  15. It's Not Easy

sounds like:


No comments:

Post a Comment